South African Radio Astronomy Observatory Postdoctoral Scholarship Programme – 2020

South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO) is pleased to announce provisional awards for 2020 in the following categories:
Postdoctoral Scholarship

Successful candidates will be sent letters of award by e-mail. Please note that this is a provisional list of awards and that successful candidates will still need to meet the SARAO requirements prior to release of funds.

South African Candidates
Kolwa SthabileUniversity of Cape Town
Eliab MalefahloUniversity of the Western Cape
Non-South Africans
Marie KorsagaUniversity of the Western Cape
Hengxing PanUniversity of the Western Cape
David WilliamsUniversity of Cape Town

Application Guideline

The South African Radio Astronomy Observatory invites applications from suitably qualified candidates for five postdoctoral fellowships, commencing in 2020.

For 2020, SARAO will consider post-doctoral applications that focus on observational research programmes, which utilise key existing radio astronomy instruments located in South Africa. These include MeerKAT, HERA, C-BASS, early versions of HIRAX, and HartRAO facilities (including astrometry and geodesy applications). Amongst these, MeerKAT is the highest priority area.

Apply online at

Closing date for applications: 30 September 2019.

Last Updated on December 2, 2019