SARAO Postdoctoral Fellowship for 2025

Call opens on: TBC

Closing Date for Applicants: TBC

Apply at: https://nrfconnect.nrf.ac.za

For more information contact:

Dr Mthuthuzeli Zamxaka

Email: mzamxaka@sarao.ac.za

Telephone: +27 11 268 3424

Contact Details of Potential Host Supervisors for Postdoctoral Fellowships in 2024

No. Your Full Name (Title, First Name and Surname) Name of University (where postdoctoral fellow will be registered /
employed)
Your Email Address Your Area/s of Research Specialisation
1 Prof Mattia Vaccari University of Cape Town mattia.vaccari@uct.ac.za Machine Learning Applications in Astronomy, Multi-Wavelength Galaxy/AGN Evolution, Multi-Wavelength Time-Domain Surveys
2 Dr Jacinta Delhaize University of Cape Town jacinta@ast.uct.ac.za Galaxy evolution, extragalactic HI and radio continuum surveys, AGN, source finding
3 Dr Kshitij Thorat University of Pretoria kshitij.thorat@up.ac.za Radio galaxies, Machine Learning applications to multiwavelength data
4 Dr Kenda Knowles Rhodes University k.knowles@ru.ac.za Galaxy clusters, Magnetism, Radio galaxies
5 Dr Jack Radcliffe University of Pretoria jack.radcliffe@up.ac.za Galaxy evolution, AGN feedback, VLBI surveys (science or technical), SKA
6 Prof Kavilan Moodley UKZN kavilan.moodley@gmail.com Radio cosmology, 21cm intensity mapping, diffuse emission in galaxy clusters
7 Dr Lucia Marchetti University of Cape Town lucia.marchetti@uct.ac.za Multiwavelenght Galaxy/AGN Formation and evolution, Strong gravitational lensing, Big Data visualisation techniques
8 Prof Lerothodi Leeuw University of the Western Cape, Cape Town Lerothodi@gmail.com, LLeeuw@uwc.ac.za Galaxy Evolution. Epoch of Reionization, Astro-Particle Physics. Physics Communication and Education
9 Prof Tinus Stander University of Pretoria tinus.stander@up.ac.za Microwave and mm-wave electronics, microelectronics and receivers
10 Prof. Yin-Zhe Ma Stellenbosch University/UKZN mayinzhe.pi@gmail.com, ma@ukzn.ac.za 21-cm intensity mapping, radio galaxy survey, Epoch of Reionization, Radio search for dark matter
11 Dr Marcellin Atemkeng Rhodes University m.atemkeng@ru.ac.za Radio interferometric techniques, Machine learning for radio astronomy, Big data and learning algorithms
12 Prof James Chibueze North-West University/UNISA james.chibueze@gmail.com Exploring the 3D structure of the Milky Way using the MeerKAT Galactic Plane Legacy Survey
13 Prof Oleg Smirnov Rhodes University o.smirnov@ru.ac.za Observational techniques, calibration and imaging algorithms, radio astronomy software
14 Dr Geoff Beck University of the Witwatersrand geoffrey.beck@wits.ac.za Multi-frequency indirect dark matter searches
15 Prof Amanda Weltman University of Cape Town amanda.weltman@uct.ac.za Fast Radio Bursts, Radio Cosmology, Dark Energy, fundamental physics
16 Dr Marisa Geyer University of Cape Town marisa.geyer@uct.ac.za Pulsars, transients, fundamental physics, gravitational radiation
17 Prof. Matt Hilton University of the Witwatersrand matt.hilton@wits.ac.za Galaxy clusters, diffuse radio emission in clusters, galaxy evolution (star formation and AGNs in/around cluster environments)
18 Prof. Mario Santos University of the Western Cape mgrsantos@uwc.ac.za Cosmology with radio telescopes, 21cm intensity mapping with MeerKAT and the SKA. Reionization and the HERA telescope
19 Prof Roger Deane University of the Witwatersrand roger.deane@wits.ac.za Strong lensing with MeerKAT(+); Galaxy Evolution with VLBI Surveys; binary SMBHs
20 A/Prof. Sarah Blyth University of Cape Town sarblyth@ast.uct.ac.za HI and galaxy evolution in the LADUMA survey
21 Dr Alvaro de la Cruz-Dombriz University of Cape Town alvaro.delacruzdombriz@uct.ac.za Large-scale structure, indirect dark matter detection, theoretical cosmology, black holes
22 Dr. Gianni Bernardi Rhodes University g.bernardi@ru.ac.za 21cm cosmology, galaxy clusters, fast radio bursts, interferometric techniques (calibration and imaging).
23 Prof Matthys Botha Stellenbosch University mmbotha@sun.ac.za Computational electromagnetics for radiation and scattering analysis

Last Updated on April 16, 2024