Applications for Undergraduate and Honours Block Grants Programme

South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO) is pleased to announce provisional awards for 2020 in the following categories:
Undergraduate/Honours Block Grant Programme

Successful universities will be sent letters of award by e-mail. Please note that this is a provisional list of awards and that successful candidates will still need to meet the SARAO requirements prior to release of funds.

Prof. Sarah BlythUniversity of Cape Town
Prof. Kavilan MoodleyUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal
Dr. Ed ElsonUniversity of the Western Cape
Prof. Tinus StanderUniversity of Pretoria

SARAO will consider applications from university departments that propose to support undergraduate and/or honours students studying any of the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Electronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Mechatronic Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Computer Engineering.
  • Bachelor of Science in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics and Physics.
  • Bachelor of Science in Physics and Electronics.
  • Bachelor of Science in Astronomy / Astrophysics and Physics.
  • Bachelor of Computer Science, with co-major in Mathematics / Applied Mathematics.
  • Bachelor of Science – Honours – Physics and Electronics / Astrophysics / Astronomy / Computer Science.
  • Bachelor of Science – Honours – NASSP (National Astrophysics and Space Programme).

A SARAO Undergraduate and Honours Block Grant includes funds for undergraduate/honours scholarships, as well as student academic support and development.

Application forms are available at

Closing date for applications: 08 August 2019

Application Guide

Last Updated on November 22, 2019